Bilingual Poll Workers are needed for this year's electionS. FIND OUT MORE →

Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Tik-Tok

Voter Registration FAQ

Voter Registration Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Who can register to vote?
    1. Be a citizen of the United States of America;
    2. Be a legal resident of Florida;
    3. Be a legal resident of the county in which you seek to be registered;
    4. Be at least 16 years old to preregister or at least 18 years old to register and vote;
    5. Not be a person who has been adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other state without having the right to vote restored; and,
    6. Not be a person convicted of a felony without having your right to vote restored.

Notice: It is a 3rd degree felony to submit false information. Maximum penalties are $5,000 and/or 5 years in prison.

  1. How or where can I register to vote?
    1. Please visit Register to Vote Florida for more information.
  1. How do I update my existing Florida voter registration record?
    1. Please visit our Register to Vote Florida for more information.
  1. Does Florida have online voter registration?
    1. Yes, please visit Register to Vote Florida for more information.
  1. How can I find out if I am registered?
    1. You can also check your voter registration status  by visiting the Broward SOE’s Voter Information Lookup. If you unable to find information or need further assistance, contact the Bureau of Voter Registration Services' Voter Assistance Hotline (in English or Español) at 1-866-308-6739 during office hours or email
  1. I am in the military. What do I need to do to apply to register to vote?
    1. Please visit our page on Military and Overseas Citizen Voting for more information.
  1. What is the deadline to apply to register to vote?
    1. The deadline to register is 29 days before the upcoming election.
    2. For a primary election, the deadline to change parties is 29 days before election day. For a general election, a party change can be made at any time.
    3. A late registration deadline is available if you (or accompanying family member) have been discharged or separated from the Merchant Marines or armed forces, or from employment outside the territorial United States. The late registration deadline is 5 p.m. on the Friday before election day in the county in which you are to be registered. Contact our offices at 954-357-VOTE (8683) for more information and to obtain the form you have to complete.
    4. For information on voter registration deadlines for upcoming elections, please visit our Election Dates webpage.
  1. I have just moved within Florida. Is there anything I need to do about my voter registration?
    1. Whether you moved within the same county or moved to another county in Florida, you do not need to re-register to vote. However, you do need to update the address on your voter registration record.
  1. I have just moved to Florida from another state. Is there anything I need to do about my prior voter registration?
    1. If you intend to vote in Florida, you must first register to vote. Then contact the election office in your former state to cancel your prior voter registration.
  1. I have just moved away from Florida to another state. Is there anything I need to do about my voter registration?
    1. If you would like to vote in your new state, please contact the election office for your new state for information on how to register to vote there.
    2. If you are no longer a resident of Florida, send our office a written notice to cancel your Florida registration.
  1. I did not vote in the last election. Do I need to re-register to vote?
    1. To check your registration status, or contact our office at (954) 357-7050 to verify that you are still registered to vote.
  1. I have not received my voter information card. What do I need to do?
    1. If you do not receive your card within two weeks of registering to vote or updating your voter registration record, contact our office at (954) 357-7050 to request a replacement card.
  1. I need another voter information card. How do I get a new card?
    1. Please contact our office at (954) 357-7050 to request a replacement card.
  1. Is Florida a closed primary state?
    1. Yes, please visit our Closed Primary / Party Affiliation page for more information.
  1. How does a felon get voting rights restored?
    1. If convicted of murder or felony sexual offense, voting rights in Florida can only be restored through clemency pursuant to section 8, Art. V of the Florida Constitution. To apply for clemency, search for grant of clemency and certificates, and/or find out more information about clemency, visit the website for the Florida Commission on Offender Review.
    2. If convicted of any other felony offense, voting rights are restored upon completion of all terms of a sentence including parole or probation pursuant to section 4., Art. VI of the Florida Constitution. Such convicted felon may alternatively apply for clemency to restore voting rights.
    3. For more information, please refer to specific questions answered on our web page entitled Amendment 4: Standards Governing Eligibility to Vote After a Felony Conviction.

Contact Us

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
(Excluding Holidays)

General Contact Information
Phone: 954-357-VOTE (8683)
Fax: 954-357-7070

Main Office
Governmental Center
115 S. Andrews Ave. Room #102
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Branch Office
Lauderhill Office
Supervisor of Elections at Lauderhill Mall
1501 NW 40th Avenue
Lauderhill, FL, 33313
(Entrance In the back of the mall)

Main Office

115 S. Andrews Ave., Room 102
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Hours: Mon - Fri, 8:30am - 5:00pm
Phone: 954-357-VOTE (8683)

Voting Equipment Center

1501 N.W. 40th Ave.
Lauderhill, FL 33313

Hours: Mon - Fri, 8:30am - 5:00pm
Phone: (954) 712-1903